Alumni News

Congratulations to Class of 2010 graduates Bobby Comeaux, Garth Cook and William Tittle for being named National Merit Semifinalists and to Jonathan Legier for being named a National Achievement Semifinalist.

Congratulations to Taylor Lee '09 and Patrick Ryan '09 on being named National Merit Semifinalists.

Congratulations to Ramon Vargas '00 on the publication of his book, "Fight, Grin and Squarely Play the Game: The 1945 Loyola New Orleans Basketball Championship and Legacy" about New Orleans' first basketball team to earn a national championship. Read more here.

Congratulations to Stuart Hall's Class of 2008 Graduates. Good luck on your collegiate endeavors!
Joshua DeBlieux – Boston College
Connor Donahue – Vanderbilt University
Michael Downing – University of Virginia
Thomas Echols – Louisiana State University
Neal Fitzpatrick – St. Louis University
Sean Fitzpatrick – University of Mississippi
Devin Francis – University of North Carolina, Asheville
Tucker Hemperley – Louisiana State University
James Kock – Louisiana State University
Trip LeCorgne – Clemson University
Trey Legier – Howard University
St. Ennah Manson – Louisiana State University
Will McGrew – deferred acceptance to Yale University, Fall 2014 (will be interning with the State Department in Morocco this year)
Marc Neyrey – Louisiana State University
Deen Parke – University of Colorado at Boulder
Dylan Rampick – Texas Tech University
Preston Reisig – Georgetown University
Jordan Rice – Howard University
Miles Rouen – Spring Hill College
Bennett Schiro – Louisiana State University
Parker Schmidt – still considering options
Matt Tillery – Fordham University
Charlie Ward – Louisiana State University

Andrew Downing '11 was elected Sophomore Class President at Newman. He also received the Faculty Award for Character, which is given to one Ninth Grade girl and one Ninth Grade boy who have led by example with good citizenship and exemplary character and who have demonstrated a love and commitment to Newman.

Neal Fitzpatrick '08 ran the Walker Shootout in 14:29, breaking the race's fastest time on record and Jesuit's record of their fastest runner set in 1985. He also finished the Catholic High Invitational at Highland Park in Baton Rouge with the second fastest time recorded in Highland Park since the race began in 1995.

Class of 2008 alumni Connor Donahue, William McGrew and Matt Tillery were named National Merit Semifinalists and Trey Legier was named a National Achievement Semi-Finalist.

Joshua DeBlieux '08 was recognized as the "Scholar-Athlete" on September 7, 2012, at the Jesuit/Holy Cross football game, which has been recognized as a Great American Rivalry game. Joshua is a defensive back and currently carries the highest grade point average on the entire football team.

Will McGrew ’08 achieves perfect SAT score and wins National Security Language Initiative for Youth’s youth leadership scholarship to study language abroad.

Thomas Meric ’03 receives Michael K. and Linda Gorman Award from the theater department at Washington and Lee University for best exemplifying the virtues of selfless service to others engaged in the pursuit of artistic excellence.

Andrew Downing ’11 receives Frank Cernicek Award at Newman School for displaying good citizenship and interacting positively in all aspects of school life. This 8th grade boy is openly supportive of his classmates and is respected by teachers and peers.

John-Michael Early ’00, Andrew Marquis ’03 and TC Wicker ’03 selected to teach in the Mississippi Delta Region through Teach for America.

Stephen Faust ’92 named President of PrePaid Technologies
Read more

Marshall Hevron ’91 Breathes New Life into Fading VFW Post Uptown
Read more

Becker Hall ’92 Honored Among Top 40 Under 40 by Gambit Weekly
Read more